top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with ZACH MURPHY


What led you to submit to RED SKIES?

I came across the RED SKIES call on twitter. It looked to be a great opportunity for my work, and I also appreciated the great cause. What writers have inspired you? As an avid film fan, I've found a lot of inspiration in certain screenwriters. Guillermo del Toro, Taika Waititi, and Nicole Holofcener are a few of my current favorites.

What projects are you currently engaged in? I'm continuing to write more and more flash and micro fiction, and I don't plan on stopping any time soon.

If you could describe your upcoming chapbook, Tiny Universes, in five words, what would they be? Heartrending yet hopeful flash fiction.

How have you maintained your artistic skills during lockdowns? My creativity has been sparked more than ever during this era. I've had a lot of time to reflect on the state of the world and come up with characters that are dealing with their own struggles. That said, I CANNOT WAIT until things get back to a semblance of normalcy.

If you could pick a single book to be quarantined with, what would it be?

J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit because it is so transportative and just an overall fun and heartfelt read. Is community important to your writing? Are there any magazines or small presses that you feel a strong attachment to?

Community is definitely important to my writing. Small presses are awesome because they have the power to encourage new writers, connect writers with the work of other writers, and support other small presses all at once. The Bitchin' Kitsch is one of my favorites. They published one of my first ever stories several years ago, and they are so supportive in promoting marginalized writers and spreading the word about other cool lit mags.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page