top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with SUSAN DEMAREST


What writers have inspired you?

 I can tell you instantly: Alice Munro and William Trevor. They're fiction writers (mainly, short

stories),who write about ordinary people and again and again, show “the human heart in conflict

with itself.”(I'm quoting Faulkner's Nobel speech.) And they write like a dream. Sure and lyrical

ordinary speech. I'm probably harping on this "ordinary" thing, but, personally, I'm not a fan of

the “Jenga" poetic line, or the stacking and self-conscious layering of sounds. I mean, good for

you, but are you talking to me?


Also,in fiction, I"d happily add Joseph Conrad and Kazuo Ishiguro ( they’re deep!) and in poetry,

Philip Levine, Terrance Hayes, Rita Dove and Louise Glück. And in music, which is my home,

Curtis Mayfield, Joni Mitchell, and Aaron Copland.



What projects are you currently engaged in? 

I am writing a Creative Nonfiction book that I call a "Humanities Primer" It is meant to provide

background information on poets, writers, artists, musicians, and history for what I call grades 13

and 14, or the first two years of college (which I teach.) It also has these quirky “memoir" pieces,

which I call, “five random facts". For example, I have a lazy eye. (That is random.) Its working

title is Bad Dog, which is a term that Vincent van Gogh once used (to describe himself) in a letter

to his brother Theo. He was describing the attendant rejections and humiliations of living your

life as an artist. The genesis of the book is that it occurred to me that it is pretty fruitless to try to

discuss Flannery O'Connor as a “Southern Gothic" writer if the concept of the American Civil

War also draws a blank. As in, my students have really never heard of it. No, really. Vietnam is

also an “If you say so” subject.



How have you spent the year 2020?

I have had a pretty good structure for getting through the day. Fortunately, I have a Brittany

Spaniel, (Tana Lee), so every day starts with an early morning walk, usually dawn or pre-dawn,

with both of us lost in the quiet and birdsong. Then, back home, Brazilian coffee, and reading,

reading, reading; then up to my desk where I begin to then write. Usually, I break off between

1:30 - 2:00. And then —that poor dog! — she’s gets another walk whether she likes it or not..

Then shopping, more reading, and Zoom meetings until dinner. Also, I sold my house . . that

was .exhausting.



How have you maintained your artistic skills during lockdown.

Two ways: One, I’ve really buried myself in research for my CNF book, particularly with artists

like van Gogh and Monet, who “bookend” it.. This may just be my own really peculiar belief,

but I feel that the more I understand about art and composition, the better I then become as a

writer. Also, because I am working on a chapter about Robert Hayden, I spent months reading

and researching anything I could find about him. Finally,, I spent a lot of time reading poetry,

poetry criticism and prosodic theory from Philip Levine, Robert Hayden, Louise Glück, and

Louis Simpson



Do you have any goals for the New Year?

Not really. I just hope to become a better writer and reader. But I do have two goals that are

unrelated to my writing.

1. Go back to studying and learning to speak Dutch ( pandemic pause.)

2. Travel back to the Netherlands, Finland and Estonia. Tallinn! What a trip!



Is community important to your writing? Are there any magazines or small presses that

you feel a strong attachment to?

These Literary/Art Magazine always Produce:

Hot Metal Bridge magazine

Bellingham Review

Hole in the Head Review

Tar River Poetry

And I always have liked the work of these presses:

Cave Canem,

Black Lawrence Press

Graywolf Press

The Ecco Press


Writing is a lonely profession, so community is everything. I belong to a writers group that

meets twice a month. a poetry open mic that meets once a week, and a literary feature group that

meets once a week as well. All Zoom, and all writers reconciled to the fact that this is going to be

our reality for a while. But we’re writers and we’re grateful, and we’re in it together.

123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page