top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with RACHEL BROOKE


 


What drew you to submit your work to RED SKIES?

I was drawn to Red Skies for a number of reasons! Firstly, I always want to support small presses run by people who love words as much as me! Secondly, being a history major and someone who writes, I am often retrospective. Already, I am anticipating how 2020 will be seen by us and by future generations and there will be a ton to digest! The creative writing from today will speak volumes about what can come out of widespread tragedy.

What writers and artists have inspired you?

I fell in love with Joan Didion this summer. The way that she moves with her words is fantastic and her use of repetition is wonderful-- she is literally all of the positive adjectives. I also love Marina Keegan who did so much with her short life. She really moved me to write like how I spoke and to not hide behind big words that make me sound older than I really am. Rachel Lynn Solomon, Sydney Taylor, and Brandy Colbert urged me to include my culture in my works and Maggie Steifvater always humbles me with the way she writes. I was fortunate to be encouraged in the arts early on, so I think that musical theatre and music have made their way into my pieces. (Though I have no talent in either!) Also, I guess 2020 Taylor Swift is a study in efficiency and quality this year!


Are you engaged in any projects right now?

I think I’m always working on other projects! I’ve been playing with this story idea for a while and I want it to flourish! But, working on a couple of stanzas sometimes feels more digestible rather than working on a number of pages. I especially want to play with some narrative poetry because it is just so clever.

How have you spent the year 2020?

I spent the first couple of months of 2020 at school with friends and working with rare books (old books too! From the 1500s!) in my university’s special collections. But very quickly, I was suddenly full-time at home, walking masked around my neighborhood listening to audiobooks. I also suddenly became very bold and began submitting to publications. It was because of this sudden boldness that I got to cover the 2020 election for a university news outlet and got internships. I think that I spent 2020 learning a lot of lessons about myself and human nature.


How have you maintained your artistic skills during lockdowns?

If anything, I think my artistic skills became what they are during the lockdown. I was finally able to take my first formal writing class ever--virtually--during the lockdown. It was through the University of Iowa which I wouldn’t have been able to do had it not been for the pandemic. Also, something that really enhanced my skills was listening to books and listening to the rhythm of the words instead of just reading them on the page. I couldn’t keep time with a metronome, but I understand the rhythm of words, so I think listening to books helped keep those skills fresh.



How has being a student changed for you, this year? Is there anything you miss in particular from before COVID-19?

I miss so much! I especially miss seeing people spontaneously. So much is scheduled now because I want to make sure to see friends so I don’t go crazy from being with only with family and at home. But I miss walking up and down the campus and seeing a friend or someone I know from class. I also miss just talking to professors instead of emailing even though the amount of emails I get makes me feel like a bonafide adult. Also, I miss seeing a lot of my friends who are now across the U.S. It’s so odd having my university career being broken up by the pandemic.


What are your favourite qualities of YA literature? Are there any upcoming releases that you're looking forward to?

I could talk forever about what I love about YA literature, but I think that what I love most is that it finds people where they are and brings them into the literary community. YA is already so niche, but there are so many communities within. For example, folks from marginalized identities may not find themselves in literary fiction or romance, or adult fantasy, but there is likely a spot for them in YA. One of the best feelings is seeing people say that they finally saw themselves in a book. I’m looking forward to so many YA reads in 2021 such as Lore by Alexandra Bracken, The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He, One of the Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moutlite, and so many others. YA has had a number of renaissances and I think we’re in the middle of one right now.

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page