top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with MONI BRAR

Updated: Jan 3, 2021


What writers have inspired you?

So many! I love the words of Vivian Hansen, Eileen Myles, Audre Lorde and other poets

with strong feminist voices. Some of my favourite novelists are those who create rich

imagery and remind us of what it means to be alive and human: Kiran Desai, Jhumpa

Lahiri, Arundhati Roy, Vikram Seth, Rohinton Mistry. I read my favourite book

(Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie) every year, and it continues to leave me in

awe.



What projects are you currently engaged in?

I’m working on my first collection of poetry. It’s a bit daunting, so I’m trying to be gentle

with myself. I’m in the early stages and curious to see how it unfolds. I have also

work forthcoming in Hart House Review, Hobart, Rock & Sling, untethered, Living

Hyphen, and five anthologies.



What led you to poetry? You have such a wonderful voice that has clearly been

shaped by your experiences. Have you experimented with other forms of writing?

Thank you. I started writing creative non-fiction a few years ago. I submitted my first

short story to an anthology and was stunned when it was accepted. It helped me realize

that BIPOC voices and stories matter. After having two CNF pieces published, I began

toying with the idea of poetry as it’s a genre I’ve always loved. I heard about a writing

mentorship program aimed at writers from diverse cultural backgrounds who weren’t

connected to the local writing community. I was thrilled to be selected for the program

and matched with a mentor who is a poet. My mentor was a wealth of support, and she

encouraged me along the poetic path.



Is community important to your writing? Are there any magazines or small

presses that you feel a strong attachment to?

Yes, community is integral to my writing. Over the past year, I’ve connected with writers

and writing groups in my local community, and I feel they are essential for my growth as

a writer. I hope I contribute to these individuals and groups by adding some diversity

through my perspective and experience as a BIPOC writer. I’m drawn to the excellent

feminist literary presses and magazines we have in Canada – Loft on EIGHTH Press,

New Forum Magazine and Caitlin Press.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page