top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with MARSHA MASSEAU


What drew you to submit your work to RED SKIES?

I liked the concept of the anthology. 2020 has affected us all but kept us at a distance; it’s unifying to put our collective creativity together and make a statement about the experience.


What writers or artists inspire your work?

Humm, that’s tricky to answer. Whoever I’m reading seems to inspire me in-the-moment. I have an eclectic taste in fiction -- everything from literary classics to paperback thrillers. When the writing or the story surprises me, then it inspires me too. I find most poetry inspiring. I like to listen to a podcast called Poetry Unbound. It’s a lovely way to experience a poem.


I completed a visual arts program from the Haliburton School of Art and Design a few years ago. I was struck by how much storytelling came out in a canvas. I appreciate most styles of art, especially stuff that conjures something unexpected.


Between creative writing and poetry, do you have a preference? Are there any other genres of writing you would like to explore this year?

I like the process of creative writing, but I love poetry for the way it forces me to distill my thoughts into a few meaningful syllables. Writing poetry isn’t fun for me the way creative writing is -- I find it stressful. But once I hook into a poem, I can’t seem to stop until I’ve got it. I will continue writing both because they each do something different for me.

I’m creating a travel journal logging an eight-day trip to Costa Rica I took before the first COVID-19 lockdown last February. It contains a series of articles and reflections about my eco-adventure-tourism experience in the rainforest. I would like to do more travelling and writing again soon.


As a student of the Professional Writing program, what do you enjoy the most? What is your experience like working within an environment of many writers?

I thrive in creative communities! I felt a shift this year in the amount of support and feedback we gave one another -- it’s been phenomenal! It seems that the lack of face-to-face time sparked a need for strong virtual connections, and we really made the time for each other. I’m lucky to have a solid team of writing peers to bounce ideas around with.


If you had to pick a single book to quarantine with, what would it be?

Sweetland, by Michael Crummey, was the perfect quarantine read! I enjoy books and music that echo my mood. In the spring, I felt isolated and lonely -- Sweetland was a mix of salt in the wound and medicinal company. Crummey is one of my top choices of Canadian authors. So far, Moses Sweetland is my favourite character of his.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page