top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with LAVINA BLOSSOM

Updated: Jan 14, 2021


What writers have inspired you

Many writers have inspired me through the years. Dylan Thomas, William Stafford, James Wright, and W.S. Merwin (especially his book “The Lice.”) were favorite poets early on. More recently, I’ve gone back to books by Kay Ryan, Bob Hicok, Rosmarie Waldrop, Dorianne Laux, Francesca Bell, and others I admire--to remind me of the varied ways to shape strong poems with feeling.

What projects are you currently engaged in?

I have two poetry collections out for consideration, but I need to look them over once more and send them to other places. I am working on new poems and just beginning to add to a chapbook which I had put aside for some time. Also, I am slowly submitting batches of poems to literary journals, which I tend to put off for long periods when my focus is on painting.


How have you spent the year 2020?

I feel it has been a very productive year for me, both as a visual artist and a writer. I’ve taken a few art classes online that offer the opportunity to share work in Facebook groups. I’ve been buying more books by contemporary poets. And with this long seclusion, I have been better at balancing time as a writer and visual artist.

How have you maintained your artistic skills during lockdowns? I’ve been in a poetry critique group for quite a few years, but this year I’ve been able to join generative writing groups and I’m producing more. Having a large community of writers online with Zoom has also made it possible for me to attend more readings.


Do you have any goals for the New Year? One goal is not to lose the momentum gained this year when I’ve had more private time for creating new work and sharing it with others. But I am sure looking forward to getting out and spending time with friends face to face.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page