top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with JOHN GREY


What led you to submit to RED SKIES?

I’m always checking Duotrope for any likely new sites or magazines. Then it’s a matter of reading the manifesto if there is one or reading some of the work already posted. And then, if I think my work would be a good match then I submit. And Red Skies looked like an amenable place.


What writers have inspired you? Too many to name. At the moment, I’m reading Flannery O’Connor, so she’s my current inspiration. Previous to her, it was the detective writer, Ross McDonald.


What projects are you currently engaged in? My book, “Leaves On Pages” was published recently. I have no new one in the works so I continue to write poetry.


How have you spent the year 2020?

I’ve done a lot of writing this year whole doing my best to stay safe.

How have you maintained your artistic skills during lockdowns?

Much the same as when there was no lockdown, I make an attempt to write every day whether I feel particularly inspired or not. This year though there have been less distractions.

Do you have any goals for the New Year? Is there a particular book you're hoping to start January off with?

I may do more short story writing. But I’ll certainly continue to write poetry.


Is community important to your writing? Are there any magazines or small presses that you feel a strong attachment to?

I, personally, have never had the desire to be part of a writing group but I understand that some writers enjoy them. I do have an attachment to a scrappy little magazine out of Maryland called Abbey which published issue # 160 this year.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page