top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with JAMES LILLEY

Updated: Jan 23, 2021


What drew you to submit your work to RED SKIES? Over the course of a few weeks before submitting I wrote many poems about the sky over my hometown and how it was constantly changing. I stumbled across SDP on social media and saw the submission call for Red Skies and thought this was a perfect fit. What writers or artists have influenced your writing? Being Welsh I grew up on a lot of Dylan Thomas and RS Thomas and both these poets have shaped the way I began and continue to write.

How has your life changed throughout the year 2020? 2020 has been an absolutely crazy year. I don't think anybody has had an easy time. For me personally I haven't been able to get any fights but it allowed me to focus on my other passion which is writing. So for the first time I took the plunge and submitted some poetry and haven't looked back.

Are you engaged in or planning any creative projects? I am working on a chapbook which had some great feedback just before Christmas so have been tinkering with it the last few weeks in anticipation of resubmitting. I am also working on several short stories. Is community important for your work? Are there any small presses or magazines that you feel especially fond of?

Yes I believe the writing/poetry community is extremely important. Via social media I reached out to some established and published poets for advice and guidance when I started submitting. I don't think I could have done it without them. Also the feedback and encouragement that you receive is satisfying and boosts your confidence.


All the small presses I have been published in thus far hold a place in my heart. Splintered Disorder Press, Fevers of the Mind poetry, Black Bough Poetry, Daily Drunk Magazine, Spillwords and Versification all have helped me massively.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page