top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with COLIN JAMES


Why did I submit to Red Skies?

I write a lot comparatively, mostly every day. I have had writers tell me that they have to be in the right mood.


Not sure if it works that way. It's an exercise, it's labor. Use the muscle make it stronger. Then seek out journals that publish work similar to your own work. That's how I came upon Red Skies........



What writers have inspired you?

I admire the poets Paul Celan, Basil Bunting and Philip Larkin. I appreciate their great talent. Bunting's output was pretty small and probably few people read him although he is respected as one of the greats. Your English teacher was right if you were fortunate enough to have had a good one........



What projects are you currently engaged in?

I have a few poetry manuscripts that I send out for consideration. I keep tweaking them. Obviously it is very difficult to get a poetry manuscript accepted for publication or individual poems for that matter. Rejection is something you have to deal with.


I get rejection letters every day, sometimes several or more. You have to get used to it. Some of my friends who have written, packed it in because of the constant rejection. I guess I had nothing better to do in terms of choices........



How did you spend the year 2020?

Pretty much like every year. Covid hasn't affected my lifestyle. My son is a college student and is with us at home.


He is going nutty and would much rather be interacting amongst his peers which he will finally be able to do at the end of January we think.......


Are there any journals or small presses that you feel attached to?

I am an admirer of the journal Red Skies as well as others.........

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page