top of page
Search
  • splintereddisorder

Interview with CEINWEN E. CARIAD HAYDON


What drew you to submit your work to RED SKIES?

Fundamentally, for me, writing is an attempt at contact and communication, as well as self-expression. In the time of the Covid pandemic, this has never been more important.

In terms of my poem, ‘Dr Mohammed’, I was deeply affected by the quiet skill and kindness of a doctor who treated me for what, in the scheme of things was a small if troublesome condition. I am so grateful to clinicians who have worked through the pandemic, and continue to do so at great risk to themselves. This is especially true for those who, due to their ethnicity, seem to be more susceptible to severe illness from the Covid virus. Medical staff have also been summarily required, at times, to abandon their specialties and work in intensive care units. My poem is a poem of recognition and thanks.


Once I had written it, I needed to find an appropriate home for it. After some research on-line, Red Skies seemed like a good place to submit. Thank you for accepting it.


What led you to begin writing? What were your creative influences?

I’ve always been an avid reader, mostly of prose. I’ve written poetry intermittently and privately to process significant emotional transitions, both happy and sad. In my professional life I wrote reports to represent the people with whom I worked, in the fields of probation and mental health. As I approached retirement, I reduced my working hours and started to write for pleasure, mainly short stories, and some poetry.


Between creative writing and poetry, what is your preference? Are there any new styles or mediums you want to learn over the new year?

I started my MA course intending to focus on prose, specifically short stories. By that time I had had some success in getting stories published in on-line journals. However, once I began my studies, I fell in love with poetry. The necessary concision acted as a helpful antidote to my tendency to lengthy expression. In the end, my final dissertation comprised poetry. I soon realised that I needed to read more poetry, and I am continuing on this journey. During the last year, at times when anxiety about Covid has made it hard to write, I have often used the discipline of experimenting with traditional forms to keep up my writing practice.


Is community important to your writing? Are there any small presses or magazines that you feel particularly fond of?

Yes, it is extremely important to me. In the UK, Butcher’s Dog, Prole, Atrium and Obsessed with Pipework have been stimulating and nourishing. The excellent Hedgehog Poetry Press runs on a membership basis and it’s benefits have offered me publication and reading opportunities.

In another sense of community, since I graduated, I have developed practice as a community arts facilitator. I love supporting people to self-expression; especially those who have not had may opportunities to find their voices. I have a particular interest in working with elders, inter-generational groups and women.

If you could only have one book with you during quarantine, what would it be?

‘The Emperor’s Babe’ by Bernardine Evaristo – her beautiful melding of the poetic with prose


What was your experience in pursuing a MA in Creative Writing? What did you enjoy most about Newcastle University?

The course was led by inspirational staff, who encouraged experimentation and the pushing of boundaries combined with academic rigour. I was particularly inspired by poets Tara Bergin and Jacob Polley. Alongside formal teaching, we as students formed informal crit/sharing groups. These were extremely valuable in terms of increasing close reading skills and developing confidence. Overall, the avid learning environment and sense of fellowship were amazing. I felt privileged to be able to participate in this opportunity.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page